<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Local Loop &#187; spammers</title>
	<atom:link href="http://localloop.co.za/tag/spammers/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://localloop.co.za</link>
	<description>Internet and Networking in South Africa</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Sat, 09 Jul 2011 00:48:00 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0.1</generator>
		<item>
		<title>RSAWeb (sort of) responds</title>
		<link>http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/rsaweb-sort-of-responds/</link>
		<comments>http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/rsaweb-sort-of-responds/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 18 Feb 2010 15:21:56 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Simeon Miteff</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Regulatory]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technical]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[fail]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ispa]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[RSAWeb]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spammers]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://localloop.co.za/?p=512</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Shortly after my post revealing that RSAWeb (among others) provide hosting for known South African spammers, I got an email from their Technical Director, Mark Slingsby, asking how recent my lookups were1, and requesting me to name the offenders2 so that his sysadmin team can follow up. I replied with a detailed response, noting that [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Shortly after my <a href="http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/">post</a> revealing that RSAWeb (among others) provide hosting for known South African spammers, I got an email from their Technical Director, Mark Slingsby, asking how recent my lookups were<sup><a href="http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/rsaweb-sort-of-responds/#footnote_0_512" id="identifier_0_512" class="footnote-link footnote-identifier-link" title="The post started with the words &amp;#8220;This morning&amp;#8221;&amp;#8230;">1</a></sup>, and requesting me to name the offenders<sup><a href="http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/rsaweb-sort-of-responds/#footnote_1_512" id="identifier_1_512" class="footnote-link footnote-identifier-link" title="Couldn&amp;#8217;t they get the list off the ISPA site and do their own lookups?">2</a></sup> so that his sysadmin team can follow up.</p>
<p>I replied with a detailed response, noting that the MX record points to a web virtual-hosting box at RSAWeb that isn&#8217;t accepting SMTP (I imagine having a broken MX suits Dynamic Seminars just fine), and that the website is a RSAWeb domain parking page.</p>
<p>Mark responded with this:</p>
<blockquote><p>Thanks for putting this out in the wild, we do not condone spam &#038; spammers. Unfortunately its always difficult to isolate these spammers as they tend to be small and difficult to detect unless we notice an abuse pattern or receive spam complaints! However we always make a concerted effort to stop these guys. Spam is inherintly evil and we have terminated the services of spammers that havent even made this ISPA hall of shame list (and will continue to do so).</p></blockquote>
<p>He also said they&#8217;ve suspended the hosting until they have concluded their investigation. When I checked this afternoon, the domain parking page was still up, so I don&#8217;t know what they mean by &#8220;suspended&#8221;. Also, the specific spammer is number one out of twenty-five on the ISPA list, which hardly makes them small, or difficult to detect.</p>
<p>Nevertheless, RSAWeb at least took notice, which is probably more than I can say for the others in my ISPA members hall of shame.</p>
<ol class="footnotes"><li id="footnote_0_512" class="footnote">The post started with the words &#8220;This morning&#8221;&#8230;</li><li id="footnote_1_512" class="footnote">Couldn&#8217;t they get the list off the ISPA site and do their own lookups?</li></ol>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/rsaweb-sort-of-responds/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>ISPA members provide hosting for local spammers</title>
		<link>http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/</link>
		<comments>http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 12 Feb 2010 08:24:32 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Simeon Miteff</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Regulatory]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Technical]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[hosting]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ispa]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[spammers]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://localloop.co.za/?p=501</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This morning I read this article on MyBroadband about the ISPA &#8220;hall of shame&#8221; list of South African spammers, and conducted a quick (somewhat non-scientific) investigation to see where the mail servers for the domains provided on the ISPA list are hosted. After filtering out domains without MX records, MX records without valid A records, [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This morning I read <a href="http://mybroadband.co.za/news/Internet/11460.html">this article</a> on MyBroadband about the ISPA &#8220;hall of shame&#8221; <a href="http://www.ispa.org.za/spam/hall-of-shame">list of South African spammers</a>, and conducted a quick (somewhat non-scientific) investigation to see where the mail servers for the domains provided on the ISPA list are hosted.</p>
<p>After filtering out domains without MX records, MX records without valid A records, and IP addresses for which whois lookups failed, the 63 listed domains whittled down to 44 servers, of which 14 are hosted by ISPA members.</p>
<p>So Localloop.co.za hereby presents the <strong>ISPA member hall of shame</strong>:</p>
<ol>
<li><strong>Hetzner</strong> (4 servers, 2 of which are hosted in Germany)<sup><a href="http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/#footnote_0_501" id="identifier_0_501" class="footnote-link footnote-identifier-link" title="Tie with Webafrica, but I put them first because one of WA&amp;#8217;s spammer mail servers is hosted by Hertzner.">1</a></sup></li>
<li><strong>Webafrica</strong> (4 servers, 3 of which are hosted in the US)</li>
<li><strong>Internet Solutions</strong>: (2 servers)<sup><a href="http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/#footnote_1_501" id="identifier_1_501" class="footnote-link footnote-identifier-link" title="Tie with Datapro, but I put them first because AboutIT&amp;#8217;s spammer mail server is hosted by IS.">2</a></sup></li>
<li><strong>Datapro</strong> (2 servers)</li>
<li><strong>RSAWeb</strong> (1 server)<sup><a href="http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/#footnote_2_501" id="identifier_2_501" class="footnote-link footnote-identifier-link" title="Tie with AboutIT, but I put them first because they have their own data center.">3</a></sup></li>
<li><strong>AboutIT</strong> (1 server)</li>
</ol>
<p>The only non-ISPA member is <strong>Intekom (Telkom SA)</strong> with one spammer mail server.</p>
<p>This does not prove the spammers listed use these mail servers for <em>sending</em> spam (they could use any other ISP for that, and judging by recent complaints on the IOZ list, <strong>Vodacom SA</strong> is one of the favorite providers for spammers).</p>
<p>Having said that, wouldn&#8217;t you expect ISPA members to uphold the spirit of the anti-spam clause in the ISPA code of conduct by not hosting mail servers for the ISPA&#8217;s own list of spammer domains?</p>
<ol class="footnotes"><li id="footnote_0_501" class="footnote">Tie with Webafrica, but I put them first because one of WA&#8217;s spammer mail servers is hosted by Hertzner.</li><li id="footnote_1_501" class="footnote">Tie with Datapro, but I put them first because AboutIT&#8217;s spammer mail server is hosted by IS.</li><li id="footnote_2_501" class="footnote">Tie with AboutIT, but I put them first because they have their own data center.</li></ol>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://localloop.co.za/2010/02/ispa-members-provide-hosting-for-local-spammers/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

